New Oost Esk8'er

Hello,

First of all, sorry about my lack of Dutch, I am still learning so will stick to english for now, so I won’t say anything wrong haha.
I am Mauricio, and am working and living here in Amsterdam for about 1 year.
Everyday more I see Esk8ers around here but something I left my esk8 back in Brazil because I was already checking the Laws in here and noticed is not really clear.

There is this topic on another community about the EU Laws, and in there was also discussed about riding here in the Netherlands and how one guy had the cops stop and warn him about it.
Sorry if can’t post links to other community, let me know and I delete:

Can anyone enlighten me here? Are we allowed to ride our Esk8? Just in the bike lane? or in the streets? or… what?

Thank you VERY much.

Hi welcome.

No it is officially illegal and if they want to they can confiscate your board. This is the risk we all take.

I have been stopped by the police once on my commute and he told me that it was illegal for the simple fact that I am riding a motorized board that is not insured. He let me go and told me if I like I can take your board and also warned me that if another officer stopped they could do this but he did not and said I will turn around now but be warned.

I still ride it as often as I can and I stay out of city centers and ride on bike lanes whenever I can which around my area is always (Ommoord, Rotterdam).

There is a lot of discussion about how to legalise and if legal then what are the rules, but I tend to stay out of that and simply ride responsibly and follow the same rules that apply to cyclists.

I also always wear at least a helmet for protection.

Be safe, ride respectably, and enjoy.

Join the group rides too. It is a lot of fun, you get to meet other eskaters and their boards, and also get to see some pretty parts of our country.

We have a whatsapp group chat too. Someone on the forum will send you an invite if you like.